Fort Monroe Beginner Learn to Sail Session 2

Monday, Jun 7, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Tuesday, Jun 8, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Wednesday, Jun 9, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Thursday, Jun 10, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Friday, Jun 11, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Monday, Jun 14, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Tuesday, Jun 15, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Wednesday, Jun 16, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Thursday, Jun 17, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Friday, Jun 18, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)

Open for sign up
Payment Options:
Credit Card (Online)
$250.00
Leader: Parker Bunting

Event Information

Description

Beginner Sailing with STEM is a great way for your child to spend some time "unplugged" while learning basic skills of sailing. Students will learn water safety, weather, knots, rigging, derigging, points of sail, sailing manuevers, use of telltales and much more. Using sailing as a platform for STEM,our in-classroom instruction complements and reinforces lessons learned on the water. We follow US Sailing's REACH Curriculum taught by our Sailing Instructors who are also REACH Certified. We include games on the water and in the classroom to enhance learning in a safe and fun environment. As many as 6 REACH modules are included in our two-week half day sessions and involve wind measurement, bouyancy, water quality testing, and much more! 

 


Participants

There are 9 people in this event, with 7 spots remaining.