Fort Monroe Intermediate Learn to Sail

Monday, Jun 21, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Tuesday, Jun 22, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Wednesday, Jun 23, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Thursday, Jun 24, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Friday, Jun 25, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Monday, Jun 28, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Tuesday, Jun 29, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Wednesday, Jun 30, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Thursday, Jul 1, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Friday, Jul 2, 2021 (1:00 pm - 4:30 pm)

Open for sign up
Payment Options:
Intermediate Learn to Sail
$300.00
Leaders: Khari Parrish
Parker Bunting

Event Information

Description

Students who have satisfactorily completed a beginner course are eligible for the Intermediate Course. Intermediate classes will build upon the boat handling skills learned in beginner session with instruction complemented by four STEM modules:

Weather, wind, current and tides; Sail Shape and Controls; The Science of Sailing; Body Position and Boat Balance; Close-hauled and Upwind Sailing; Jibing Techniques and Downwind Sailing, Rigging and Seamanship, Emergency Procedures and Navigation and Rules of the Road.

Contact treasurer@youthsailingva.org with requests for financial assistance. Please provide your name, address, school your child is attending, household income and number of members in the household. 
 


Participants

There are 17 people in this event, with 3 spots remaining.